Texas Gun Forum Ad
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    At the end of a gravel road, past two cattleguards

Beretta PICO vs S&W Bodyguard

Do any of you have any experience with a .380 S&W Bodyguard or the new Beretta Pico?

I am going to buy my wife a little .380 for her purse. She says my .38 J-frame is bigger than she wants to carry.

PICO. 11.5 ounces empty.

BODYGUARD. 11.85 ounces empty.
    "Jill, if there's ever a problem, just walk out on the balcony ... take that double-barrel shotgun and fire two blasts outside the house,.." VP Joe Biden Feb 19, 2013

The Bodyguard had trouble with it's laser switch when 1st introduced.. poor design. I took it off my buy list. I later watched some videos on YT showing easy fixes to the switch.. it's back on my buy list now.. solid little gun.

GKC
    I have no experience with the Beretta Pico, but I've owned a couple of other Berettas...and I'm not a real big fan, other than the M9/92FS, which is actually too big for my small hands. Beretta's customer service and short warranty leave much to be desired, IMO.

I have owned a BG380, and it fits me and I like it more than the Ruger LCP. I didn't like the laser, though, so I sold it. Ruger has just announced a LC380, which is a LC9 chambered in .380ACP. It's the same size as the LC9, so it's bigger than the BG380, and she may find it bigger than she wants to carry if a J-frame is too big. It should be a very soft shooter, though, on the LC9 platform.

Another very good .380 pistol to consider is the SIG P238, which has some similarities to a 1911, in a very small package. It's a very good gun, although some people don't like the "cocked and locked" carry. It's also heavier, but for purse carry, that may be less of a concern than pocket or IWB...the other downside is that it's expensive...but it's also worth it.
    Ken
    USN 1969 - 1973
    God Bless America

Hammerless revolvers are perfect for a purse, though. You can empty the gun without breaking concealment.