• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • leVieux

TSRA/NRA Life Member
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    >
    IDK why, but Taco Bell was in my morning TV “news”. I first .lived in Corpus back in 1969, when I was a Physician Intern at Memorial Medical Center.

Back then, there were no full-time ED / EM Physicians, so we Interns ran the very busy urban Emergency Service. Early-on, the vernacular was strange and had to be learned.

One new “diagnosis” I was unfamiliar with was “Found at Taco Bell”. The Taco Bell out South Alameda parking lot had become the hub of illegal drug transactions for the entire area.

”Found at Taco Bell” was local code for a serious case of illegal drug overdose requiring ambulance transport and medical resuscitation.

This was one of our most common late evening emergencies back then. Not a joke, as some didn’t survive, and many were teens.

Later I found myself in Medical practice at 4330 South Alameda, which was in a professional building next-door to the infamous Taco Bell. I then began seeing serious drug problems in the smaller South-Side hospital ED’s, and even in my own practice.

The kindly Federal Probations Officer for the area, an elderly Attorney, began visiting regularly. I was astounded to learn that he was managing legal cases of over 400 Heroin addicts, not just “users”, but addicts in the local High Schools like Ray, Carroll, & King. And those were just the KNOWN teen addicts, who had been caught, sentenced, and were on some type of probation, but still using daily.

I have previously told here of my brief experiences as the interim manager of the local Federal “Methadone Clinic”.

Old times in C.C.

leVieux

V-Tach

Watching While the Sheep Graze
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Sep 30, 2012
    Texas
    Heroin is still a thing here in South Texas..........

OD's are up along with usage.....