22 lr advice

Discussion in 'Handguns' started by mpolk, Jan 16, 2009.

1. mpolk

mpolk Member

Jan 3, 2009
    Waco, Texas
    Thinking about getting a 22 lr pistol to practice with along with my new 9mm FNP 9. Looking at the Sig Mosquito because it is very similar to the FN. I am very new to handguns and was wondering if this is a good move or not.

2. Bullseye Shooter

Bullseye Shooter Active Member

Apr 28, 2008
    Texas Panhandle
    I wasn't familiar with this pistol, so I did a yahoo search and came up with this; Pistols Forum : Sig Arms Mosquito Reviews

I would be more inclined to go with a Ruger Mark II or III or their .22/45 model. They seem to digest any kind of .22 ammo and extra magazines are readily available. And they come in lots of different barrel lengths and sight options.

3. mpolk

mpolk Member

Jan 3, 2009
    Waco, Texas
    Thanks for the advice. I was just reading reviews also and most were saying it only likes expensive ammo.

4. mcss383

mcss383 New Member

Jan 5, 2009
    Highlands, TX
    I have shot probably close to 7k rds, if not more, through my Browning Buckmark and have never had problems with it. It is extremely accurate to boot!

It would be my suggestion if there isn't a 22LR conversion for you FNP 9.

5. brickboy240

brickboy240 Active Member

May 19, 2008
    Houston, TX, USA
    After 10 years of ownership and heavy shooting...I am a big fan of the Ruger 22-45. Mine is accurate, reliable and has not given me a lick of trouble.

If you shoot 1911s, XDs, Hi-Powers or SIGs...the feel of the 22-45's grip makes more sense than the Buckmark or other 22 pistols.

I vote Ruger 22-45.

- brickboy240

PS: another really nice 22 pistol is the Ruger Single Six. My brother bought his when I bought the 22-45 and if you want a revolver in 22lr...the Single Six is a really nice shooter.

6. Nodena Ranger

Nodena Ranger New Member

Jan 8, 2009
    Downtown Nodena-NE Texas