• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • FireInTheWire

Caprock Crusader
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    So I've been running this gun for about a year. Really like it a lot, but it does not like subs. I've tried a few different companies. It either jams, won't feed or round only loads half way. It's not a big deal really because I shoot subs about 1% of the time. It's more of a novelty thing when I get a wild hair. My 556/223 has an adjustment. But I can't find anything like that on this rifle. I'm still learning the black guns.... Can anyone shed light on this? why some guns have adjustment and some don't?

https://ty1gp1y141k12fk1dp5xpx1a-wp...ntent/uploads/2016/11/R16SFSDHHT-300-MSRP.pdf
    Target Sports

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 5, 2012
    HK
    An adjustable gas block regulates the amount of back pressure that cycles the bolt. Subsonic ammo has less back pressure then full strength loads. To compensate for the lower pressure. An adjustable gas block can be set to allow more gas to reach the bolt. Cycling it. Back pressure can also be increased by using a suppressor. The gas trying to leave the suppressor causes an increase in the back pressure.

Non-adjustable gas blocks can be adjusted by increasing the size of the hole in the gas block. Drilling it out to a larger size. The deal with that is it's 'tuned' to a specific load and a specific back pressure. When it's correct, the rifle will run like a clock....with that specific load. Subsonic ammo will give mixed results.

On your rifle. Since you run very little subsonic. It's not enough reason to adjust or change the gas block. It's not set up for sub sonic. If you want it to cycle properly using subs. Install an adjustable gas block.

outdare

Well-Known
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jul 24, 2009
    Cumby