• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • leVieux

TSRA/NRA Life Member
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 28, 2013
    The Trans-Sabine
    Long, long ago. . . . . . . . Waaaay back,when I was young and slim, I was a young doctor "down" in the "Sparkling City by the Sea" the crown jewel of our Texas Gulf Coast. My older office partner was a very fine Yankee gentleman of German descent, a WW-II combat veteran, surgeon, and a "retired" ex US Navy Hospital Commander. His beautiful young wife, a professional singer from Canada, was pretty liberal for their day. One afternoon, the Doctor told me of a terrible problem he had. Seems that a very wealthy and grateful patient had sent him two primo firearms. One was a brand-new London custom double 20 in a fitted leather case with ivory snap caps and a gorgeous cleaning kit. Straight hand-cut top European walnut, etc. The second was a German .22 Anschutz target rifle, with fine stocks, sights, and accessories, also brand-new. His problem was that the young wife was "uncomfortable" with firearms in the home, even without ammo. Doctor inquired about selling them. Once I saw their great beauty, I decided to try to get him to keep them for his grandsons, who lived in quail & dove country in Jim Wells County. Figured I had convinced him to save the beautiful weapons. A few months later, I inquired how the grandsons liked the arms. To my great dismay he replied that he had sold them through a newspaper ad. Smiling, he told me that the first fellow to look bought them both. $100 for the .20 GA and $50 for the rifle. I thought I might just die and let him know that I would have gladly paid 10 or 20 times that for them ! So, now I am an old fat man. My advice to all is that, if you ever have a similar encounter, tell the friend that you'll keep his stuff protected in your safe until the issue is resolved. Good Evening, Rick
    Guns International

Gilgondorin

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 21, 2012