Another what if...

Discussion in 'Gun Legislation' started by .45 Delivery, Mar 26, 2009.

1. .45 Delivery

.45 Delivery New Member

Mar 26, 2009
    Hurst
    I'm probably leaving myself open for a few burns here, but it's my first topic so please be gentle.;) Lets say I'm delivering a pizza, and a pedestrian thinking I'm driving too fast obstructs my path and stops me in the middle of the street. He then approaches me cussing and grabs me by the arm while I'm still sitting in my car. The man is well over twice my weight, and I'm now fearfull for my well being. Would it then be unlawful to implement a handgun as protection, and if so what options of defense am I permitted by law? Thank you for any help you can give me regarding this question.

2. DoubleActionCHL

DoubleActionCHL Well-Known

Jun 23, 2008
    Spring, Texas
    I'm not a lawyer!

First off, I want to stress that we opt for deadly force only as a last resort. Given your parameters, it could be argued that Texas PC Section 9.32 presumes your belief that deadly force was reasonable:

Penal Code Section 9.32
    Deadly Force in Self Defense

The actor's belief that the deadly force was immediately necessary is presumed to be reasonable if the actor knew or had reason to believe that the person against whom the deadly force was used:

Unlawfully entered, or was attempting to enter unlawfully, the actor's habitation, vehicle, or place of business or employment;

Unlawfully removed, or was attempting to remove unlawfully, the actor from the actor's habitation, vehicle, or place of business or employment of the actor;

Be sure you can articulate a reasonable and immediate fear for your life or the life of a 3rd party.

3. .45 Delivery

.45 Delivery New Member

Mar 26, 2009
    Hurst