• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • eclipse

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 21, 2010
    Grapevine
    I recently picked up a Stevens 200 in 223 at the Grapevine Academy for $ 179.99 plus tax.

I have been shooting for over 45 years and this cheap little rifle is one of the finest shooters out of the box that I have ever shot. I bought one of the Nitrex scopes for it and after sighting it in, it amazes me. 20" barrel centerfeed fixed magazine.

I plan on bedding the action to see how it shoots after that.
    Guns International

Rum Runner

Well-Known
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Mar 21, 2010
    Plano
    I have read nothing but good things about many of the bottom end bolt action rifles from Stevens, Savage, Marlin, etc. Glad you are finding it to be true too.

ROGER4314

Been Called "Flash" Since I Was A Kid!
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jul 11, 2009
    East Houston
    Re: STEVENS 200 RIFLE

I saw a guy at the range shooting one of those and it seemed to shoot pretty well in spite of his flinch habit. He told me about the sale so I hot footed it over to Academy. I bought one in Pasadena chambered in .270 for that sale price. Have not fired it yet but have nothing but good words to say about it. The quality is there regardless of the inexpensive price.

I had a little trouble adapting a scope base to the long action. The Weaver base spaced the rings too far apart for the scope and the rings were positioned at the bell of the objective lens on the 3-9 50mm Tasco from WW. I got a special offset Weaver base that moved the forward base back a bit and the problem was solved for $7.50. I wanted to stay with inexpensive components and scope to see how well a budget rig would shoot. We'll see. I like the rifle enough to get another in 30-06 or 308 but doubt if that fantastic price will ever be seen again.