• Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Are Kimbers good to go or solid pass?

• Kimbers are legit. I would buy from them no problem.

Votes: 31 54.4%
    • No, Kimbers are not good guns.

Votes: 20 35.1%
    • Glock Boyz unite!

Votes: 6 10.5%

• Total voters
    Status
    Not open for further replies.

CaliGunner

I'm out
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Feb 8, 2022
    Texas
    I'm kind of new to the 1911 market, just got my first one last week for carry. I'm usually a fantastic plastic carrier (Glock, Sig, HK). I go to the range with a friend who is a big 1911 fan boy and he's excited because "I'm finally converted". So we go, put some rounds down range, then he says, "Try this one. It's legit." I think it was a Kimber Lightweight Custom chambered in .45 ACP. It's a nice looking gun. It has this two-tone color to it where the frame has this "gun metal" color and the slide is black. Really tacti-cool looking.

So I load a mag, and I start shooting it. It's okay, I think the sights are off a little bit (slightly right). It's definitely not shooting where I think I'm pointing. The grip isn't the most comfortable. The grip safety doesn't have any rounded off bevels, it's pretty harsh actually, almost like a block. Also the grips seemed like they were loose (I could make an audible noise by shaking the gun). I told my friend that it was cool, but he might need to tighten his grips to the frame, and his front sight may need to be re-aligned. But in my head, I thought the gun was kind of trash as a shooter.