• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Apr 27, 2009
    I know it sounds like a dumb question, but I have some HXP .30-06 brass from 1967, and after tumbling it, I expected it to "lighten" up a bit, but it's still a dark hue, quite unlike after tumbling .45ACP brass, which lightened up a lot, almost like white gold now.

Is this merely a result of the HXP being a different type of brass, or is it a sign of failure? The cases which I have inspected show no signs of failure that I can detect, but I'm only a beginner, and still have yet to finish setting up my reloading station.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
    DK Firearms

c_m_shooter

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 6, 2009
    Paradise
    I wouldn't worry about it. It isn't quite the same, but most of my .45 Colt brass is varying shades of brown to black after 13 years of loading with Unique (I still have a bunch of the old dirty formula) or blackpowder.

Bullseye Shooter

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 28, 2008
    Texas Panhandle
    Sometimes exposure to moisture will darken brass and no amount of tumbling will lighten it up. If you're really concerned about it, try soaking it in a mixture of 2 cups water, 1 cup white distilled vinegar, 1 teaspoon of salt and a teaspoon of dishwater or laundry detergent. Mix up the ingredients in a plastic jar and dump the brass in after eveything is mixed up well. Shake every so often and then dump the brass out into a strainer. Rinse off with water and then either dry in the sun or in a warm oven. Sometimes the brass will turn a slight pink color. That will go away the next time you tumble it. If you want you can drain the liquid into another container since it can be reused several times.

MadMo44Mag

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0