Beginner Questions

Discussion in 'Handguns' started by TexasRig, Jun 30, 2009.

1. TexasRig

TexasRig New Member

Jun 28, 2009
    I won't ask the obvious beginner question, what type of handgun should I buy. I have found a lot of good information on that topic on this site and other places on the web. I have three questions.

1. If you have a concealed carry license can you take your weapon into an establishment that has a no firearms sign posted?

2. Is a gun show a good place purchase a new firearm? Meaning I am new to handgun's and may not be able to recognize a flaw that would be obvious to a more experienced person.

3. How many states recognize the Texas CCL?

Thanks in advance for any help you can give. This is a great site with lots of good info and quality discussions.

Session

2. GM.Chief

GM.Chief Well-Known

Mar 16, 2009
    First, welcome to TGT!!!

#1 If it just says "No Firearms" the yes. If it has a 30.06 sign, then leave you're gun at home, in truck, etc. (I'll leeave it to someone better suited at answering the 30.06 nuance questions, as I'm still trying to figure 'em out myself...lol)

#2 I personally have no experience with gun shows myself. I have however been told that its hit or miss. Sometimes you get a deal, sometimes you don't. I personally decided to buy all my guns through local stores as I want to support the businesses that I will be frequenting the most. That doesn't mean I'm averse to going to a show or even purchasing online, I just haven't.

#3 Here is a link to DPS's website concerning reciprocity. http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/administration/crime_records/chl/reciprocity.htm

P.S. in Texas it's CHL, not CCL, CCW, etc.:texas:

3. txinvestigator

txinvestigator TGT Addict

May 28, 2008
    Ft Worth, TX