• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Bozz10mm

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 5, 2013
    Georgetown
    I've been driving with these tires on my Expedition for about 4 1/2 years. Mostly on SH 130 at speeds of 80 and 85 mph. Then, Thursday, I happen to look at one of my tires, and this is what I see. Splits in the tread groove.

IMG_0019_zpse98e69c8.jpg

So, I check the other 3 tires, and guess what, they are the same way. Upon closer inspection, it gets even worse.

IMG_0018_zps1e294c4f.jpg

I'm freaked out. Even though I bought these tires in 2010, we don't drive the vehicle that often and they only have 8,100 miles on them. Lots of tread left, but it is separating from the sidewalls and splitting in the grooves. The tread is separating the entire circumference of the tire, and those groove splits are almost completely around too. I figure one tire, maybe, but all four? What in the world is going on here?

I keep them inflated to the proper pressure, no off roading, 90% highway driving. These are not the cheapest tires. They are the Goodrich Long Trail T/A.

I have an appointment with Discount Tires Monday. To me this looks like a factory defect and those guys better make it right. I don't know how long they've been that way.

I'm curious as to what you guys think.
    Texas SOT

BG1960

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 9, 2008
    Unincorporated East Harris County
    I have a set on my Jeep that are exactly like that. When I asked Discount I got an automated negative response. I will say that since noticing this over two years ago, nothing has happened. I won't be replacing them with BFG's when it comes time to replace them.

Last edited:

txinvestigator

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 28, 2008
    Ft Worth, TX