Bitcoin

jordanmills

TGT Addict
Sep 29, 2009
Pearland, TX
I meant to post this a few days ago before a lot of the publicity, but I got busy.

Say you were selling a gun and I offered to pay in bitcoin. What would you think and tell me? Of course I'm willing to let you examine proof that I'm an adult resident of Texas and have never been convicted of a felony.

Edit:

This kind of turned into a Q&A, then a point/counterpoint, and got some random trolling mixed in. I really would like to hear the initial reaction and opinion of some regular users who have no need to be very technical. Even if I think it's incorrect, it helps me understand how non-tech people see it and are inclined to interact with it right now.

Last edited:

Southpaw

Forum BSer
TGT Supporter
Mar 30, 2009
Guadalupe Co.
I don't even do PayPal so, probably not. But I'm no techie, so that doesn't say much.

Seems a bit unstable still to me, didn't the value of 1 bitcoin just double it's value over the course of a few weeks? Would suck to be on the opposite end of that event.

IXLR8

TGT Addict
TGT Supporter
May 19, 2009
Republic of Texas
I find it difficult to believe that anyone unfamiliar with Bitcoin would accept it. I would estimate that 2% of firearm purchasers would accept it as a form of payment. Then, settling on an amount would be difficult. The exchanges I have found will sell you a Bitcoin for $220.00 but only offer you $20.00 US for one.
A few weeks ago I tried "mining" for Bitcoins. The Titan graphics card in my PC has 2048 processors, hashing 350mil/hashes a second. In 48 hours I earned 9 cents, with a single Bitcoin being the smallest amount I could withdraw from a collective of Bitminers. It would have taken years to earn one. The electricity was far more expensive. I gave up....

jordanmills

TGT Addict
Sep 29, 2009
Pearland, TX
I don't even do PayPal so, probably not. But I'm no techie, so that doesn't say much.