Bolt Rifle Suggestions

Discussion in 'Rifles' started by TAZ, Dec 9, 2008.

1. TAZ

TAZ Active Member

Oct 17, 2008
    Round Rock
    So I am pretty close to wrapping up my 2 AR projects and am considering another money pit in the form of a bolt gun. I have neither the tools not the skills to actually build one, so aside from some basinc accessories it needs to run out of the box.

I would like for it to be 308 since I have some experience with the round and have dies some brass....

The majority of the time spent behind it will be at a range punching paper, but I would like to be abel to get out in the field with it and go after hogs and deer. We are talking maybe 80/20 range/field at best probably closer to 90/10. While I have owned some heavy barrel varmint/tactical rigs and enjoyed shooting them at a range or in a supported environment, I am not vain enough to pretend that humping a 14#+ rifle around the field will do anything but give me a heart attack :)

I have fondled a Tikka T3 that felt very good in the hand and I am told they are VERY good shooters, so shooting for groups at the range would not be a frustrating experience.

Any other suggestions aside form getting a varmint rig and gym membership.

2. O.S.O.K.

O.S.O.K. Member

3. Charley

Charley Active Member

Aug 7, 2008
    San Antonio
    Those Savages are hard to beat for value. Nice thing is, if you get bored with .308, they are relatively easy and inexpensive to rebarrel.

4. phatcyclist

phatcyclist Active Member

Feb 22, 2008
    Austin, TX