• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Flashcb

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 28, 2009
    Magnolia, TX
    The company I work for has given me some stock/shares. Now I need to figure out what to do with them. what are your recommendations for learning about brokerage account, places to go for advice etc.? I am a total noob to all of this, just now getting used to balancing my checkbook, so please only entry level stuff in plain Engrish.
    Venture Surplus ad

Recoil45

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 13, 2014
    Companies generally put them into a brokerage account for you. If they are not hitting you with fees you can just leave them there. If they have some unusual fees (they shouldn't) you can transfer them to a discount brokerage like ETrade or Schwab.

If you believe in your company you generally hold them so they can appreciate. If you don't you could consider selling them, but you will have to pay taxes on the profit on your income taxes.

oldag

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Feb 19, 2015
    If you now own the shares, someone is holding them for you. Talk to your company's HR department and find out what is the current situation.

If you just want to hold the shares, you may not need to do anything.

Many financial advisers do not recommend holding stock in your employer. Too many eggs in the same basket (e.g., source of salary and savings). If something goes south, you lose it all.

If you are not restricted from selling the stock, you might want to consider selling and using the proceeds to buy some mutual funds.

Mreed911

TGT Addict
    BANNED!!!
    Rating - 100%
    28   0   0
    Apr 18, 2013
    Austin, TX
    Question: If you hadn't been granted them and had been handed their current value in cash, instead, would you spend the cash to buy them?