Building your own 1911 ???

Discussion in 'Gunsmithing' started by TexMex247, Nov 20, 2009.

1. TexMex247

TexMex247 Well-Known TGT Supporter

May 11, 2009
    Leander(NW Austin)
    Ok, so I am a mechanic by trade and after twenty years of shootin' and cleaning guns, I think I finally have what it takes to build one. The 1911 platform seems like a good place to start. Since I don't have a good manual, I will probably begin there. I'd like to hear about ones you might know of, or own. Also, is it even worth building them ? From both a cost and performance sides ? If it's not worth anything but bragging rights I might build myself a new AR instead.:fighting0010:

2. Shorts

Shorts TGT Addict TGT Supporter

Mar 28, 2008
    Texas

Not by a long shot.

You can build a functional 1911 for less than you can buy if you have the 'smith skills to get the parts to fit. Unfortunately with cheap 1911 parts you also get cheap fit...ie, out of spec parts. And out of spec parts will net you a gun that runs terrible and needs more massaging to get right.

I've built an Oacp. It was a fun project for sure. But what I spent on parts wasn't cheaper than buying a full gun.

I haven't built an AR but I think it'd be a way to go.

3. navyguy

navyguy TGT Addict

Oct 22, 2008
    DFW Keller
    If I were to do that I think for the first time I'd buy a kit. Like maybe one from Fusion Firearms. Kits go for around $700, but then you'll need finishing and a few after build items.

AR's are pretty easy, with the most difficult part being the barrel fitting which, to do a proper job on, you need a jig and some special tools. But unlike a 1911, tolerances and fit on AR's for the most part are very loose. I enjoyed shopping the components and putting my ar together

4. res1b3uq

res1b3uq Active Member

Feb 14, 2009