• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • TexMex247

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    19   0   0
    May 11, 2009
    Leander(NW Austin)
    Ok, so I am a mechanic by trade and after twenty years of shootin' and cleaning guns, I think I finally have what it takes to build one. The 1911 platform seems like a good place to start. Since I don't have a good manual, I will probably begin there. I'd like to hear about ones you might know of, or own. Also, is it even worth building them ? From both a cost and performance sides ? If it's not worth anything but bragging rights I might build myself a new AR instead.

Shorts

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Mar 28, 2008
    Texas
    Ok, so I am a mechanic by trade and after twenty years of shootin' and cleaning guns, I think I finally have what it takes to build one. The 1911 platform seems like a good place to start. Since I don't have a good manual, I will probably begin there. I'd like to hear about ones you might know of, or own. Also, is it even worth building them ? From both a cost and performance sides ? If it's not worth anything but bragging rights I might build myself a new AR instead.

Not by a long shot.

You can build a functional 1911 for less than you can buy if you have the 'smith skills to get the parts to fit. Unfortunately with cheap 1911 parts you also get cheap fit...ie, out of spec parts. And out of spec parts will net you a gun that runs terrible and needs more massaging to get right.

I've built an Oacp. It was a fun project for sure. But what I spent on parts wasn't cheaper than buying a full gun.

I haven't built an AR but I think it'd be a way to go.

navyguy

TGT Addict
    Emeritus - "Texas Proud"
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 22, 2008
    DFW Keller
    If I were to do that I think for the first time I'd buy a kit. Like maybe one from Fusion Firearms. Kits go for around $700, but then you'll need finishing and a few after build items.