• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • BigBoss0311

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 8, 2010
    McKinney, TX
    So as a certified PPO I was wondering why the handgun qualification is not waived for Commissioned Officers and PPO's. I know it is waived for military but that makes no sense to me (I am a vet btw) as a good chunk of the military doesn't ever use or qualify with a pistol. However, all DPS certified Commissioned Officers must pass a handgun proficiency test in addition to the hours of class time we must attend. And much of the instruction is referring to current Texas Penal Code regarding firearms and rules governing security guards and when a weapon can be used. So am I alone in thinking that there should be a discount for a CHL in addition to having the firearms qualification waived with current Level 3 or 4 guard card?

As an aside:
    I will go ahead and head off any flak from my comment about the military qual waiver. I personally feel that there should be NO qualification or certification needed for a CHL as long as you are legally able to own a firearm.
    ARJ Defense ad

Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Aug 17, 2010
    Austin
    So as a certified PPO I was wondering why the handgun qualification is not waived for Commissioned Officers and PPO's. I know it is waived for military but that makes no sense to me (I am a vet btw) as a good chunk of the military doesn't ever use or qualify with a pistol. However, all DPS certified Commissioned Officers must pass a handgun proficiency test in addition to the hours of class time we must attend. And much of the instruction is referring to current Texas Penal Code regarding firearms and rules governing security guards and when a weapon can be used. So am I alone in thinking that there should be a discount for a CHL in addition to having the firearms qualification waived with current Level 3 or 4 guard card?