• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • TEXAS70

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 27, 2010
    Salado
    This is my first time to post. I am planning to get my CHL and I have a couple of questions.

I have read many of the threads and I see the term "painting". I have inferred that this means showing that you are carrying a concealed weapon. Is this correct and why the term "painting"?

My second question is there seems to be an almost paranoid concern that one might accidentally have their weapon exposed where someone might get a glimpse of the weapon. Is there some penalty or law that you are subject to that makes the idea of someone detecting that you are carrying a weapon so terrible? Let's say you are wearing a wind breaker or coat that totally conceals the weapon and a gust of wind or an accidental snagging of the coat exposes the weapon for a moment and someone sees it. Is there a problem that I don't understand? You have made a good faith effort to conceal the weapon, but by some accidental situation, the weapon is seen. Have you committed an offense? If yes, what is the consequense of this exposure.

Sorry if these are dumb questions, but I have not seen any answers on these forums. Thanks in advance for any enlightenment.
    Gun Zone Deals

cougartex

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 1, 2010
    Southeast Texas
    I think you mean printing. Printing means that you can see the handgun through the clothing whether you can physically see through it or your clothing rests on it or gets caught on it so that it is noticeably a conealed handgun.

Printing is not an offense.

A person commits an offense if they intentionally fail to conceal the handgun

txinvestigator

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 28, 2008
    Ft Worth, TX