• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • kapache

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 20, 2016
    Hi,

I am a new resident of Texas. I come from California where gun registration under go a process of DROS, background check, and a ten day waiting period. I read this article its straight forward and very helpful, http://www.texasguntalk.com/forums/...e-sales-face-face-transfer-other-options.html. I am trying to buy a gun from Texas Gun trade, but so far I had nothing but negative responses from sellers. It seems that because I have a temp drivers license some sellers assume I am not a resident of the State although I have proofs of car registration, utility bill and home ownership. Anyways, I am in the talks with a seller on a nice m&P9, he asked to meet on a FFL near us. My question is, will I have to pay taxes, registration, and Dros the pistol on a FFL dealer even if its private party?

Please excuse my ignorance, I am trying to learn the Texas way on buying and selling guns.

Thanks.
    Gun Zone Deals

oohrah

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 24, 2013
    Heart O' Texas
    There is no gun registration in Texas. If you are making a private sale, from one resident of the state to another, there is no background check or taxes. Most private sellers at least like to see proof of residency, and some like to see a CHL/LTC, and some want to do a Bill of Sale, but there is no requirement for them to verify that.

If you are trying to make an interstate transfer of any kind, you will need to go through an FFL, who will have to do a 4473. But, you will not have to register.

Welcome to Texas! Isn't this the nice way to do it.

Last edited:

Bozz10mm

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 5, 2013
    Georgetown