Eye Relief! Give me EYE RELIEF!

boisestatebronco

Apr 7, 2013
So I just purchased my first AR. It's a RRA Varmint A4, and I love plinking with it. Seriously fun gun. The only problem is, even with the stock fully extended, I feel like I have to pull my head back to get a decent site picture through the scope. The rings are set as far forward as possible, and the scope is set in the rings as far as possible. I'm a self confessed newbie in the AR world... any suggestions?

Dawico

Uncoiled
Lifetime Member
Oct 15, 2009
Lampasas, Texas
Pictures? Are you using a scout scope by any chance? Most scopes have 2-4" of eye relief. Does that match what you have?

M. Sage

TGT Addict
Jan 21, 2009
San Antonio
So I just purchased my first AR. It's a RRA Varmint A4, and I love plinking with it. Seriously fun gun. The only problem is, even with the stock fully extended, I feel like I have to pull my head back to get a decent site picture through the scope. The rings are set as far forward as possible, and the scope is set in the rings as far as possible. I'm a self confessed newbie in the AR world... any suggestions?
There are special rings for the AR to solve this problem. The only question is, how much do you want to spend? Personally, I'd suggest getting the highest quality you can afford, because the way a scope is mounted is probably the most important part of the equation.

I'm going to call this one "good enough". It's not as good as the one I'll post next, but it's Ok, especially for this price. SWFA S.S.A.L.T. 30mm Scope Mount

This would be ideal, though. It's quite a bit better than the first one, and the price reflects that. LaRue Tactical Scope Mount QD LT745 | LaRue Tactical

Radioman93

Jul 10, 2011
Texas
What you are looking for is something like the following.....

QUICK-RELEASE AD-RECON MOUNT | Brownells