• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • jocat54

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 10, 2011
    Lindale, Texas
    Hi all, new here, but not new to guns or handguns. I have been reading a lot about CHL which I hope to take class soon--a little harder living in the big town of Leakey. Anyhow in my seaching on the internet I came across an article on leagallyarmed.com that is saying that as a military vet I could get a Florida CHL by just applying and some paperwork and of course some money and could legally carry in Texas. Am I reading this right? Wouldn't change my mind on taking the Texas CHL class but may be an alternative to consider. Really just courious more than any thing.

John
    Hurley's Gold

RetArmySgt

Glad to be back.
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Aug 14, 2009
    College Station
    That is the way i understand it and i am about to go that route myself. Your military service is enough for flordia to issue a non-resident permit on.

Edit: and last time i looked it was $114 total.

pyrat

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 31, 2010
    Allen, Texas
    Acceptable Training Documentation (FL CHL)

1. A photocopy of a certificate of completion of any of the courses or classes listed below. Do not send your original certificate because it cannot be returned.
    2. A copy of any document that shows completion of the course or class or evidences participation in firearms competition;
    3. An affidavit from the instructor, school, club, organization, or group that conducted or taught the course or class attesting to the completion of the course or class by the applicant below. Be sure to submit the original (notarized) affidavit but make a copy for your records because it cannot be returned.
      • Completion of any hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission or a similar agency of another state;