Patriot Mobile

Forward Vs. Reverse Grip, Edge in vs Edge Out.

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Texas

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Wabbit69

Lifetime Member
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 16, 2012
    Austin
    Looking at other forums, there seems to be quite a bit of debate on the matter listed in the title. Unfortunately, I'm having a hard time sifting through some of the "my kung-fu is stronger than your kung-fu" language. What I am having trouble finding is a discussion on the technical merits and disadvantages of each technique. FYI I'm a novice, and would like to find some good technical material, so I can decide which is best for my needs.
    Links would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a bunch.

Wabbit69
    Target Sports

M. Sage

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 21, 2009
    San Antonio
    No debate. This is how it goes down.

Reverse just shortens your reach, and limits your attacks to wide swinging slashes or overhand stabs. Remember what humanity learned thousands of years ago - the point beats the edge. A straight-in thrust is harder to deal with, and if you attack with your empty hand an instant before, you distract and there ain't shit the other guy's going be able to do to stop you.

Luckily, the extent of my experience with the subject was taking a knife away from my ex when she was threatening to slash her wrist with it. She was completely non-combative, I did everything textbook, and I have a 1" scar on my hand to remind me that getting anywhere near someone with a knife is a stupid move.