• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • stemoo01

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 9, 2014
    Took the AR to the range today, went through a couple of black hills 223 boxes without any issues & then cracked open my first box of Freedom Munitions Reman 223.

Few rounds in & it jams, I was struggling to clear it (charging handle wouldn't retract) when the range officer popped over & gave me a hand.

Got it up and running but 4 or 5 rounds later it again failed to chamber the round:

1.jpg

This time I manage to clear it & take a look at the bullet:

2.jpg

Initially I thought this was a cracked case with a bullet wedged inside it (I've little experience with 223, under 1000 rounds):

3.jpg

Before finishing up for the day I showed the range officer the bullet & with a little twist he revealed what had actually happened:

4.jpg

The round shot before the failure had split in two, as it was extracted the top half remained wedged in the chamber and a fresh round was rammed into it....

My guess is that the 223 reman brass was weak & unfortunately FM's QA didn't catch this before it was reloaded, hence the split case.

I've shot a reasonable amount of their 9mm both new & reman without any issues so it's a shame for this to happen with the first box of 223

Luckily I only had the one box.

This could well be an isolated incident/batch issue, but if I was to order any significant amount of 223 from them today I'd spend the extra few bucks to get new & only get a few trial boxes of reman.

Cheers,
    Steve
    Military Camp

Hoji

Bowling-Pin Commando
    Rating - 100%
    36   0   0
    May 28, 2008
    Mustang Ridge
    Thanks for the heads up. I have shot hundreds of their 9mm, .357 mag, and .45 ACP without incident. I was getting ready to go in on a pallet of their new 5.56. May just buy a couple of boxes and test them out first.

Major Kong