Join TexasGunTalk

Frustration with some people

Discussion in 'Stolen Property & Criminality' started by pawncop, Sep 26, 2013.

1. pawncop

pawncop Active Member

Aug 11, 2008
    TEXAS
    I was at the P D today, seeing how I would do as far as stamina since I had pneumonia diagnosed last Sunday. (one nice aspect of being a reserve officer, I set my own hours).

So I get a call from a citizen telling me he has found his air compressor in one of the local pawn shops.

I start looking into the case. Back in June he reports a blue air compressor stolen. No brand, no model, no serial number, no psi, no nothing.

Now the facts seem to indicate he MAY be right. But the courts do not accept it MAY be his.

I have encouraged him to locate any documentation that will assist him in proper indentification regarding his property.

But it is so frustrating to have someone get upset because they perceive I will not take action because they KNOW the item is theirs.

Knowing is not proving.

Record your serial numbers and/or have complete description and engrave your drivers license on this items without serial numbers.

Your local pawn shop detective will thank you.

2. txbikerman

txbikerman TGT Addict

Jul 10, 2013
    mckinney
    You got to be able to prove that it is yours

3. pawncop

pawncop Active Member

Aug 11, 2008
    TEXAS
    Yep, I have worked several cases where folks swear it is their property and when investigation is completed it ain't theirs. I had one lady so mad at me because she was certain a ring set was hers. Turned out the rings had been pawned two (2) years before she made her report.

4. txbikerman

txbikerman TGT Addict

Jul 10, 2013
    mckinney
    most of my tools are engraved .

5. jordanmills

jordanmills Well-Known

Sep 29, 2009
    Pearland, TX
    For real. How do people not keep serial numbers?

6. pawncop

pawncop Active Member

Aug 11, 2008
    TEXAS