• ...and so much more!
  • Elbe

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 12, 2012
    San Antonio
    Hello,

Are there any books about guns that you all would recomend? I am new to shooting, so specifically I am looking for something geared to people just learning and something that will define the terminology. Thanks everyone!
    Hurley's Gold

Angered_Kabar

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 17, 2011
    Kansas City :(
    I'm reading Cooper's The Art of the Rifle.

I have to say I learned a few things already. It's not really a step by step guide to becoming an instant rifleman, but a broad overview on what the rifleman can expect to encounter and some advice on how to prepare for it.

Chrs2fer23

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 13, 2010
    El Paso,Tx
    Someone recommended Boston's Gun Bible to me, and I just got it from Amazon a couple days ago. Haven't started in on it yet, but in thumbing through it, it looks really good and has a bit of everything.

TheDan

deplorable malcontent scofflaw
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Nov 11, 2008
    Austin - Rockdale
    Someone recommended Boston's Gun Bible to me, and I just got it from Amazon a couple days ago. Haven't started in on it yet, but in thumbing through it, it looks really good and has a bit of everything.
    Most of those 800 something pages is rhetoric. I feel that it's likely to turn someone off if all they are looking for is shooting tips and gun info. Still, there is a lot of good info in there and the guy has obviously done his research. You just have to wade through quite a bit of, uh... opinion... to get to the meat of it. Much like an internet forum

Charlie

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Mar 19, 2008
    'Top of the hill, Kerr County!
    Finn Aagaard -Selected Works- Very interesting. Deals with shooting of all types, in the U.S. and Africa as well as calibers, actions, etc. Not deep into technology but written in a down-to-earth manner.

Acera