Gun suggestions for beginner wanting to get CHL

Discussion in 'Texas Concealed Handgun (CHL)' started by A.Texas.Yankees'Girl, Nov 7, 2013.

1. A.Texas.Yankees'Girl

A.Texas.Yankees'Girl Member

Nov 3, 2013
    I'm wanting to get my CHL and wanting some suggestions of a good gun to practice with that qualifies for the CHL. Keep in mind that I'm a beginner :)

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk

2. txinvestigator

txinvestigator TGT Addict

May 28, 2008
    Ft Worth, TX
    Have you ever shot? If no, get instruction and take it from there.

If yes, find a range that rents guns and will help guide you. Shoot many. Without working with you suggestions are just waaay to random

Its sort of like asking " what car should I get, I am a new driver. ;).

3. Charlie

Charlie Illiterate TGT Supporter

Mar 19, 2008
    Kerr County
    Holy moly! Gonna' open a BIG can of worms! What do you think you'd like in the way of a concealed carry? :popcorn:

4. A.Texas.Yankees'Girl

Nov 3, 2013
    I have shot before...I've been shooting a .22 pistol and I love it but I was told you can't get your CHL with that.

5. Charlie

Charlie Illiterate TGT Supporter

Mar 19, 2008
    Kerr County
    Are you gonna' carry it on your person or in a purse? You could test (as txi said) some at a range; maybe a .380 about the size of the .22 you're shooting, for starters.

6. txbikerman

txbikerman TGT Addict

Jul 10, 2013
    mckinney
    The best thing is to handle and shoot as many as you can. You will find the one that feels right to you

7. A.Texas.Yankees'Girl

Nov 3, 2013
    I'd carry in my purse.

8. General Zod

General Zod Well-Known

Sep 29, 2012
    Kaufman County