Lynx Defense

Heating With Wood Thread - Another homestead mouth to feed.

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Texas

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • matefrio

ΔΕΞΑΙ
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 19, 2010
    Missouri, Texas Consulate HQ
    Feel free to offer advice, show your setups and comment\questions about feeding wood stoves.

After just two nights of feeding this furnace it had become in my mind a working animal on the homestead to feed and care for. So much so I'm looking for a name for the furnace.

oZsEqX.jpg

Background:
    I'm new to this. Never had more than an ornamental fireplace fed by store bought wood. After moving here about 6 months ago I've finally lit my first fire at this house. The house is all electric. No propane and no city gas. There's a bit of wood on the property that was left by the previous owner but not much at all. I do have a wooded area to pull some trees out of on my property. To keep electric bills down this house has a stove hooked up to the furnace. I received no instructions on how it worked and had to go to the manufactures website and get a manual.

Example of what's on my property.

HKoc5X.jpg

I knew winter was coming but with little experience gathering and cutting wood, and electric backup, this fall I volunteered through my church group to help others in need get wood and learned from others who've done this much much longer than I. This included pulling wood from back lots, cutting it up and getting it to their homes.

Pulling out a log from the deep woods to get cut with a rope puller.

I70F17.jpg