Just bought my first handgun.

Discussion in 'Handguns' started by archernewberry, Dec 26, 2008.

1. archernewberry

archernewberry New Member

Dec 23, 2008
    Grand Prairie
    I just bought a Browning Buck Mark Camper URX from Academy in Arlington. It was $299 and I had a $60 gift card from the in-laws, so I think I got a pretty decent deal. I was torn between the Buck Mark and the MKIII, but once I held both of them, the Buck Mark just felt better. I've attached a pic of it here.

I'm very new to shooting and everything I've read says that a .22LR is the best gun to learn how to shoot with. Do I need to clean or lube the gun at all before firing it for the first time? Also, if any of you know of a good gun safety and/or target shooting class in or around the Arlington/GP area, let me know. Like I said, I'm a total beginner wanting to learn how to shoot accurately, the ins and outs of my gun and how to responsibly use it. Thanks!

Attached Files:

2. Slotback

Slotback Member

Mar 10, 2008
    It would not hurt for you to learn how to field strip your purchase and clean it. Then head out some place to (safely!) plink. If you know an experienced shooter, have them come along. Get a brick of .22 and enjoy! Those Browning .22's are fun to shoot and a good way to get the basics down. You will not regret your purchase.

3. jgedmond

jgedmond Active Member

Dec 2, 2008
    Spring
    Congratulations on your first handgun and the responsible way that you are approaching gun ownership.