• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • leVieux

TSRA/NRA Life Member
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    >
    For a century plus, it was "technically illegal" for citizens in Texas to carry handguns, and specially to "concealed carry" outside of private property and/or very few codified exclusions. The Law of the time even prohibited most "car carry".

IANAL ! My comments are from decades of living in Texas, especially South & Southern Texas, and from numerous conversations with Attorneys, LEO's, & others involved.

BUT, what actually went-on during those many years?

Since my earliest visits to Texas over 65 years ago, handguns were "everywhere". Indeed, Texas gun shops did business in handguns. Handguns were in daily use by many Texans and visitors, both urban and rural.

When I first lived in the Lone Star State, I was a young Physician working in an urban Emergency Service of the local County Hospital and saw numerous gunshot injuries, almost all from handguns. Later, in the big hospitals of Harris County & the Texas Medical Center, I saw many more. The dangers of our drug addict infested 1970's & '80's Houston pretty much demanded that we be armed, Law or not.

I knew Senior Physicians and "Old Texan" Attorneys who routinely carried concealed, long before the Law changed and CHL's / CWP's, etc. became real.

Being young and naïve, I decided to "be legal" and leave my guns at home.

BIG, BIG mistake, almost got me killed. As I have described the late 1980 incident on earlier posts here, I won't repeat.

Immediately afterwards, when the criminal record of my attacker became available, I faced the reality of "what might have happened". This was soon linked to the tragic kidnapping of my Friend, Wm :"Pat" Fitzpatrick, MD, and the brutal execution-style murder of Pat and two other Houstonians.