Guns International

might get into bow hunting, help please!

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Texas

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Stumpy

Landman/Presbyterian
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 4, 2009
    Slaton, TX
    i might get into bow hunting so i can take advantage of some public hunting lands and earlier deer seasons and such. any tips? picking the right bow? equipment needed? way to get started? i want an inexpensive bow that i can get started with and take to hunt deer, turkey, hogs, etc. im VERY new to archery and bow hunting.
    Gun Zone Deals

texas1willy2

BANNED!!!
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 20, 2009
    woodlands
    Find out your draw length before you buy a bow, stop by a bow shop ask question get fitted etc. Then make sure to get the right arrows to go with the bow, the shafts are different sizes, lengths and stiffness.

If I was going to try and save money I might look for a used bow. Recurve would be another option no sights or extra stuff just bow, arrows, broad heads and tab.

robin303

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 10, 2010
    Austin
    I had all my arrows cut down to fit me. You will like the compound bow. Do you have any idea how much you got to practice. It took me a couple years. Very fun sport.

MR Redneck

TGT Addict
    BANNED!!!
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 20, 2010
    The great country of West Texas