• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • PRE-K

Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Aug 25, 2015
    Tomball
    How do you motivate the old hands?! I mean the ones who have been in LE over 30 years, are barely passing quals, but are uninterested in anything new or different than the way its always been.
    Lynx Defense

SIG_Fiend

TGT Addict
    TGT Supporter
    Admin
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Feb 21, 2008
    Austin, TX
    I have no experience with this specifically, so take my words with a grain. That being said, I have instructed a number of older shooters that have been shooting for 3 and sometimes 4 decades or more. Not everyone is going to attain a USPSA GM level of performance, and some people simply will never take the care or initiative to grow beyond their current level. Ultimately, even though you might provide them with the tools necessary to achieve the "goal", the ball is in their court. The best advice I can give from my perspective, is to try and find ways that you can connect the "goal" with some of their current techniques or preferences. It may be less than ideal, but hey, if they improve a few percent, maybe it's better than nothing.