Join TexasGunTalk

Moving to TX with CPL (Michigan CHL)

Discussion in 'Texas Concealed Handgun (CHL)' started by elwarpo, May 22, 2019.

  1. elwarpo

    elwarpo New Member

    7
    3
    3
    May 22, 2019
    Michigan
    I have a CPL in MI, and wonder what is needed for my CHL in TX.

    From what I have read, I have to be a TX resident for 6 months and take the course. The question is if I l already have a license that required more class/range time than the TX requirement, do I need to take the class again and wait 6 months? I really do not like the idea of not being able to carry for 6+ months.
     


  2. Southpaw

    Southpaw LOW CLASS TGT Supporter

    toddnjoyce likes this.
  3. elwarpo

    elwarpo New Member

    7
    3
    3
    May 22, 2019
    Michigan
    My MI CPL is tied to my drivers license, so the moment I get a TX drivers license, I give up my CPL. While they are separate cards, MI law states that you have to have you MI drivers license with your CPL for your CPL to be valid.
     
    Southpaw likes this.
  4. BillFairbanks

    BillFairbanks Active Member

    682
    931
    93
    May 8, 2017
    That stinks. I don’t know the answer to your question. However, how much time do you have before you move? Would it be possible to get a non resident license from a state like Arizona to tide you over?

    https://www.concealedcarry.com/reciprocity/top-5-best-non-resident-concealed-carry-permits/

    If not, Texas does allow for someone to carry in the car without a permit.

    https://www.quora.com/In-Texas-if-y...-are-pulled-over-what-do-you-tell-the-officer

    Careful about school zones though.

    Good luck and welcome to Texas.



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  5. Bozz10mm

    Bozz10mm TGT Addict TGT Supporter

    5,121
    1,589
    113
    Oct 5, 2013
    Georgetown
    elwarpo likes this.
  6. Southpaw

    Southpaw LOW CLASS TGT Supporter

    That's what I was afraid of.
     
  7. ZX9RCAM

    ZX9RCAM Over the Rainbow bridge... TGT Supporter

    35,075
    7,964
    113
    May 14, 2008
    The Woodlands, Tx.
    Do you mean don't speed or talk on the phone?
     
    majormadmax likes this.
  8. Bithabus

    Bithabus ! TGT Supporter

    6,799
    694
    113
    Aug 17, 2010
    Austin
    You have to take the class but you don't have to wait 6 months.
     
  9. txinvestigator

    txinvestigator TGT Addict

    13,398
    667
    113
    May 28, 2008
    Ft Worth, TX
    Who can get a Texas LTC (residency requirements only)

    A Texas Resident
    A resident if any other state
    A person who moves to Texas with the intent to establish residency

    You're good, OP
     
    Southpaw and MTA89 like this.
  10. dartsinsa

    dartsinsa New Member

    10
    10
    3
    Oct 20, 2018
    Katy, TX
    I had this exact situation moving back to Texas from MI in 2014. Simply put, you are good until you get a TX DL, then your MI CPL is no longer valid (as MI has no non resident license). In my case, I took the TX class the weekend after getting my TX DL, and the process to get my TX LTC took three weeks (I was surprised it was so fast, and over the year end holidays to boot). You do not have to wait 6 months, take the class and do the paperwork as soon as you get your TX DL and minimize the time you are not legal to carry.
    Interesting fact.....my TX DL is the same number I was issued originally back in the 70's....my wife's was also her old original number.
     


    TxStetson and BillFairbanks like this.

Share This Page