Lynx Defense

Need advise on buying my first shotgun (for home defense)

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Texas

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • JohnKennySang

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 11, 2018
    Singapore
    I am a CHL holder and have 2 9MM pistols in my home, so I have some shooting experience.

I am thinking of buying a Shotgun to add to my "arsenal". I have NO experience with shotguns and need some help to decide what to buy. Also, this is something that I would want my wife to be able to handle if needed.

What gauge?
    Length?
    Brand?
    What type of shells?
    Will indoor ranges allow one to shoot a SG?

Thanks for your help
    Lynx Defense

Younggun

Certified Jackass
    TGT Supporter
    Local Business Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Jul 31, 2011
    hill co.
    My preference is for an 18" barrel pump action with youth stock. 20ga is plenty with #4 buck.

That said, your wife would need to spend plenty of time shooting it because shortstroking a pump action will jam it up. Really, a person should be extremely familiar with any weapon they plan to use in a high stress defensive situation.

TexasBrandon

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jul 14, 2011
    Salado
    Mossberg 500 and a Remington 870. My 870 magnum express has been a fantastic shotgun. I'd look for one that is older though, Remington's newer stuff isn't up to snuff. Remington 1100s are good too but they are a bit long and unwieldy in close quarters. I love mine but it's a pain in the ass to handle the way my house is laid out.