• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • sealy99

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 5, 2017
    Huntsville, TX
    I'm a little new to this, so please bear with me. I am currently shooting over iron sights on my M&P. 18" barrel. This is fine for 100 yards in, but any longer than that and the target is a blur. Any suggestions for between 100 and 300 for around a $600 budget? Any features I should consider?
    DK Firearms

jrbfishn

TGT Addict
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Aug 9, 2013
    south of killeen
    Athlon Talos 4-14 BTR with the mil reticle, side focus. Really nice. I love mine. Amazon had them for about $250.

Sent from my RCT6873W42 using Tapatalk

Dawico

Uncoiled
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   0
    Oct 15, 2009
    Lampasas, Texas
    100-300 yards is red dot territory to me, unless you are strictly target shooting.

1-4x is a good compromise for magnification and speed.

I like Leupold and Vortex personally.

My Leupold 1.25-4x Firedot is a good compromise as it is a scope but has a red dot in the reticle too for low light and quick acquisition.

navyguy

TGT Addict
    Emeritus - "Texas Proud"
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 22, 2008
    DFW Keller
    100-300 yards is red dot territory to me, unless you are strictly target shooting.

1-4x is a good compromise for magnification and speed.

I like Leupold and Vortex personally.

My Leupold 1.25-4x Firedot is a good compromise as it is a scope but has a red dot in the reticle too for low light and quick acquisition.

Second the Leupold Mark AR Mod1 1.5-4x20mm. (Also available in 3x9) Weighs under 10 oz. Couple that with a light weight Leupold base (about $100) and it's a sweet set up. You can also get this scope without the eliminated dot for about $160 less.

I've got that set up on my 14.5" carbine and am very happy with it.
    m1bdSBx.jpg

BigBoss0311

Well-Known