• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • foxfieldarms

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 19, 2015
    Justin, TX
    Hey Guys, I'm fairly new to shotguns, they have really just recently peaked my interest. Looking to purchase a semi auto, more than likely I will be looking in a price range of under $1000. I have be looking strongly at the Mossberg 930 JM pro. I haven't shot 3 gun yet, but will looking to possible get involved this year. Any thoughts on this shotgun? Or any others I should consider?

thanks for your time
    Military Camp

robertc1024

Staff member
    TGT Supporter
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    20   0   0
    Jan 22, 2013
    San Marcos
    Ay Yi Yi - I've never owned a semi. Rem 1100's seem to be the ones of choice. If I were to get any, a Browning A5 humpback would be my choice.

OLDVET

Well-Known
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Dec 14, 2009
    Richardson, Texas
    The Remington 1100 has been around a long time. Only problems I have seen is the rubber o-ring can break and the chrome bolt assist handle can pull out. Both problems render the shotgun unusable. Here is a curious bit of trivia. The Remington 1100-LT 20 gage holds the world's record for the most shots fired without a malfunction, being cleaned, or having a part break. The total count was 24,000 consecutive rounds without a failure.
    Bennelli and Berreta each make fine gas shotguns. Berreta has been building firearms for over 500 years.

One nice thing about an 1100 is they are available. Remington has produced over four million over the years. Another option is the Remington 1187. Do not have a feel for current pricing, but they are out there. Remington eliminated the rubber o-ring on the 1187 gas system.

Mexican_Hippie

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Feb 4, 2009
    Fort Worth
    Maybe look at FN SLP.