• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • wbstx11

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 14, 2015
    Hi everyone – I am new to rifle reloading, I have been re loading38 spcl and 45 acp for about 3 yrs; started off with RCBS Rock Chucker &Lee dies, and later got a Lee Loadmaster Progressive (finicky junk!). I will stick to the Rock Chucker for 308reloading. My rifle is a Ruger American22” with 1:10 twist. Mainly I target shoot for personal satisfaction and I wantto see how accurate I can get with this rifle. This is just a hobby for me. Last trip to the range I shot severalcommercial ammos @ 100 yards and averaged 3 groups of 3 rounds each andmeasured the following average results: HornadySuperformance 165gr SST - 1.25”; Fiocchi Extrema 180gr SST 4.5”, FreedomMunitions Remanufactured 147gr FMJ 3.25” and Federal 180gr SP 3.25”. I boughtsome used military brass – mostly LC 12 and LC 13 which I am processing andsorting/culling. I have FL sized, headspaced, trimmed OAL, and drops into chamberOK. My question is: to focus onaccuracy, where would you start? – what are some of the key issues to makepriorities? I have a Hornady HeadspaceComparator, a Wilson case trimmer, a Lyman electronic powder measurer, LeeDelux Die Set, Lee decapping die, and plan to use Varget mostly, also haveRL15. I’ve read a lot, like what I’veread on this site – so I thought I’d ask.
    Gun Zone Deals

Dawico

Uncoiled
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    14   0   0
    Oct 15, 2009
    Lampasas, Texas
    Good bullets and good brass are the keys.

Trim your brass all the same and weigh them. Load brass in groups that weigh the same, even if each group weighs much different. In time you will need to buy better and more expensive brass but any will work to start with.