• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Texan79423

Well-Known
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Jun 7, 2021
    Flatlands
    Military should know the answer. Welcome!
    Fence your place in and get some cows
    City boy.gif
    California cowboy.jpg
    Lynx Defense

mdf9183

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 15, 2018
    Bastrop
    Welcome from Bastrop, Texas, I don't know about Lampasas Co. but Bastrop requires a min. of 5 acre lot to shoot on your property.

General Zod

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 29, 2012
    Kaufman County
    Hello,

I'm new to TX. Military moved my family here and I'm living in Lampasas.

I bought a Mini 14 and a Wrangler as my first gun purchases. Not a fan of the AR platform.

Is backyard .22 shooting pretty common in TX?

Ah, another Mini-14 owner. There's only a few of us here. Wood furniture or synthetic? Mine's an early 80s vintage with a wood stock.

As for backyard shooting...depends on what county the backyard is and what (if any) restrictions there are. Make sure you've got one hell of a good backstop if it's legal to - you want to make sure it all stays in your backyard. Some counties have a minimum acreage requirement, so check and doublecheck. If you're inside a city (or even most small towns) don't do it, it's guaranteed to be illegal. Some cities even forbid shooting airguns in a back yard.

KZCafe

TGT Supporter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 12, 2023
    Lampasas, TX
    What is it about the Mini -14 platform you prefer over the AR?

Welcome to TGT by the way.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    Mainly the aesthetics. I have the wood stock. It's low profile as well in that it doesn't draw negative attention for being "too tactical".

KZCafe

TGT Supporter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 12, 2023
    Lampasas, TX
    Could do a lot worse than a mini-14, but the AR is modular and versitile.