• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • jcbaggie04

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 14, 2009
    Fort Worth
    hey guys, rather new to the forum as well as shooting. I love going to the range and am hopelessly addicted now. I currently have a sig 229 in .40 S&W that I got used from a friend and I really like it. I have been wanting something smaller that has less recoil to it than the .40 though to shoot as well. I had another sig in mind I liked but it was sold before I could make a move on it. it was a sig p225 9mm, and since i missed out on it i had researched and found another which is close to the p225 i liked but still in production, the p239. I am not stuck completely on sigs, as I am a newbie but I do like the one I have so naturally... So tell me your thoughts on the two i mentioned as well as others that would fit the mold for a good 9mm pistol.
    thanks guys,
    :1zhelp:
    Military Camp

juwaba98

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 9, 2008
    North Zulch, TX
    9mm will be the way to go for softer recoil. In the 9mm platform I like the Glock 19, Springfield Armory XD9, S&W M&P9, and pretty much all Sigs in 9mm form the P239 (smallest single stack they offer), P226 (larger frame size), P225/P6 (single stack comparable in size to the P229), P228 and P229 (both double stacks). One option that is available is getting a Bar-Sto 9mm conversion barrel for your current P229 and then getting a couple of P229 9mm mags and shooting both .40s&w and 9mm out of the same gun with a simple barrel swap. Just another option for you.