• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • FireInTheWire

Caprock Crusader
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Anyone on this site have one? Been thinking about getting one. I have no flight experience other than flying with friends and FIL. I plan on stopping by the local airport and getting some info.

Was wondering actual Cost and Time to get one. Anything I can do to get ahead of the game?

Thanks

gaines67

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 2, 2018
    Park City
    I have my single, multi engine and instrument rating. Though a lot of fun and very rewarding, aviation is very demanding and requires a significant commitment of time and money. The “easy” part is getting your license; staying “current” requires a commitment to flying (at minimum) several times a month and preferably once per week. The ramifications of not doing so are obviously egregious. You have to decide whether you are ready to make that commitment long term - it’s not a hobby, really.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

toddnjoyce

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Sep 27, 2017
    Boerne
    I do. Feel free to PM and we can set up time to talk.

Generally speaking, expect a $10K - $12K investment just to earn your PPL. Most people take 3-4 months flying once or twice a week and take close to twice the FAA minimum required hours before they pass the check ride.

Hard number mins for the more affordable way to do it:

40 total hours flight time to include
    20 hours flight instruction
    20 hours solo flight
    Knowledge exam

Hard number mins for the more expensive way to do it:

35 hours flight time to include:
    20 hours flight instruction
    5 hours solo flight
    Remaining 10 hrs based on student needs
    Knowledge exam

Both ways get you the exact same end result. Averages are 72 hrs total flight time for successful initial PPL applicants.

toddnjoyce