Pistol in truck at work

Discussion in 'Handguns' started by jray1536, Jan 14, 2018 at 12:03 AM.

1. jray1536

jray1536 Member

I am starting a new job next week and I was wondering if there were any exceptions to being able to have a pistol in your vehicle in the parking lot of work. I drove past where I will be working today and they had a bunch of “no guns allowed” signs at the entrances to the parking lots.
    I thought companies couldn’t prohibit employees from having firearms in their personal vehicles parked in the parking lot. What am I missing?

2. MTA89

MTA89 Active Member TGT Supporter

Mar 10, 2017
    North Texas
    From what I have heard, I am not a lawyer etc etc, having a gun in your personal vehicle in the parking lot of your work cannot be prohibited by an employer. However, that wont stop them from firing you since Texas is an employ at will state or whatever its called if they find out about this and don't like you.

Someone will be by to tell you if this is correct or not

3. pronstar

pronstar Active Member TGT Supporter

Jul 2, 2017
    Dallas
    Our LTC class instructed us that parking lots are fine, they can't limite those.
    But you're right, you can be fired for any/no reason.

How would they know unless...?

4. Younggun

Younggun Doer of Deeds TGT Supporter Admin

Jul 31, 2011
    hill co.
    There are exceptions. I don't remember them all, but it seems like 3 or 4 exceptions.

5. Charlie Primero

Charlie Primero Active Member

Nov 9, 2017
    Forest Country
    I used to do on-site I.T. work where I traveled to private hospitals, public schools, and State agencies. There are some weird rules at places like mental health facilities and places dealing with troubled youth that prohibit guns in personal vehicles.

Companies usually give new employees some type of Employee Handbook which lists their rules and regulations. If the prohibition is not listed there, ask some old-timers in a low-key way how strictly the rule is enforced.