Just Another Boomer
    Staff member
    Lifetime Member
    Admin
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Nov 22, 2011
    Spring
    I've done some reading, enough to convince me that the consumption of large quantities of caffeine and artificial sweeteners is a bad idea.

When I switched from regular Cokes to Diet, I lost quite a bit of weight so I have some experience with changing a deeply-ingrained habit.

However, leaving my caffeine habit behind will, I feel sure, be much harder. I drink a huge quantity of the stuff, generally close to a gallon a day. (Mercy, I hate admitting that.)

Who here has taken this step and what was the experience like? Any tips? Have you managed to stay off the stuff in the long term?

TIA for any experiences y'all are willing to share.
    Military Camp

Vaquero

Moving stuff to the gas prices thread.....
    Staff member
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Apr 4, 2011
    Dixie Land
    You asked.

I quit sugar (most all sweets) about 15 years ago. Maybe more.
    Pretty smooth sailing honestly. I'm hypoglycemic.

For those who don't wish to google, if my blood sugar begins to climb, from a candy bar or soda, my insulin dump is total, not metered.
    Only way to keep going is more sugar to offset the insulin dump.

All's good till a few years ago.
    Heartburn. Up 1/2 the night heartburn.
    Self diagnosed and remedied. Caffeine.
    I still drink a travel cup and thermos full of coffee every morning.
    Amounts to around 10 measured 8 oz cups.
    Water after that till beer thirty. Tea is out!
    Yep, I miss a good glass of iced tea. I surely do. It just aint worth it.

No blood sugar issues in over 10 years.
    No heartburn in at least 4, minus the occasional unsweet tea at lunch. Those haunt me.

Hypoglycemia requires a high protein diet.
    Red meat, peanuts or derivatives., etc.
    I'm 53. 5' 10", 160+ lb.
    I feel my age. I don't miss a work day due to anything doing with personal health.

Ole Cowboy

TGT Addict