• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Glock20

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 20, 2012
    Austin
    Hello, I'm new to reloading for rifles. I have done a lot of reloading for 9mm and 10mm pistol caliber, though.

A couple of questions: in 9mm or 10mm dies, you have a de-primer die, a charging die, a bullet seating die, and a crimp die.

When I bought the 308 dies, there's only 3: a deprimer die, a neck sizing die (?right?), and a bullet seating die. Is that all ?

I understand that you don't crimp rifle cartridges, right? What about the neck sizing die, any adjustment for it?

Is this mean that I can only charging 308 cartridge manually ?

FYI, I use a Lee Classic Turret setup. It has a 4 die ring, so I just leave one of the positions empty?

Thanks, for your helps.
    DK Firearms

codygjohnson

Eats breakfast everyday
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 11, 2009
    Flower Mound
    My bolt rifles only get neck sized, but my autos get full length sized using a full length sizing die. The "depriming" may be a full length sizing die. The neck sizing die will come with instructions on how to set it up for proper use. Both types of sizing dies should have a depriming pin. You will have to charge the cases individually, so get a powder funnel. You will eventually want to full length size your cases as they will get too big for the chamber at some point. On the lee, just leave one station empty.

mikeofcontex

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 2, 2010
    Midlothian, TX
    Depriming (decapping) is usually done in the "full length" resizing die. There is no case mouth expander die. With Lee, there should be a seater and a factory crimp die in a 3 die set.