• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • lcooper1784

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 16, 2011
    humble
    Hello all,
    I am hoping that some of you lovely people will be able to assist me :) I am a graduate student at a Houston university and am working on research for an article for my school's literary magazine. The topic of my article is the debate currently underway concerning the legalization of concealed carry of firearms on college campuses. Personally I support this legislation; it is my constitutional right to carry a gun, and I know I would feel much safer on campus if I were allowed to have my gun with me.

But I digress...

What I am hoping to get some advice on is where I can find reliable information / statistics on the following:
    1) Occurrence of non-defensive shootings by concealed license holders over a span of time (basically, how many license holders have shot other people in situations other than self / home defense)

2) Statistics on the current population percentage in possession of a concealed license

That's my starting point anyway. I have been doing extensive research online but have been unable to locate much up-to-date information. Much of it dates back to the early 2000's or even earlier. Any tips or suggestions for where I could start would be greatly appreciated!!
    DK Firearms

Texas1911

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    May 29, 2017
    Austin, TX
    1) You need to find the latest DPS crime statistics ... you should be able to find them on the CHL portal for the state.

2) That would have to also be from the DPS statistics, they'd be the only ones to know.

Texas DPS - CHL Conviction Rates Reports

CHL holders held 0.1541% of total convictions in the state of Texas for the crimes listed.

MR Redneck

TGT Addict
    BANNED!!!
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 20, 2010
    The great country of West Texas