• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • acistofani

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 29, 2012
    Ft. Hood
    Im looking for a rifle/pistol range within the Ft. Hood to Austin area that offers member privelages and/or lockers to store weapons. Not too sure if they are around here as much as back home but any help would be nice. Thanks.
    ARJ Defense ad

Steve M

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 18, 2011
    Central Texas
    The best range between Hood and Austin is Best of the West Range in Liberty Hill texasshootingrange.com

Most guys I know who live in the barracks and don't want the unit armorer playing with their POW just put their stuff in an offpost mini-storage unfortunately.

scgstuff

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 7, 2011
    Central Texas
    The range on post is pretty nice, and free! I'm a contractor, so don't need to worry about the armorer stuff, but do have most of my guns registered on post so I can shoot here. Best of the West is a very nice range (just had a Texas Gun Talk meet there a couple weeks ago) but is about a 45 minute drive each direction. Also, depending on if you buy a membership or not, it ranges from $6-$20 per trip.

tx_transplant

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 9, 2012
    Greenville, TX
    The range on post is pretty nice, and free! I'm a contractor, so don't need to worry about the armorer stuff, but do have most of my guns registered on post so I can shoot here.
    Couple questions about shooting on post (sorry in advance if they are dumb lol). I get the registering the guns part. As for the actual range, which range is it, and when is it open? Also, do you need to check in someplace first (besides at the gate)? I haven't been here very long, and saving a few bucks going on post now and then is a plus.

scgstuff

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 7, 2011
    Central Texas