• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • claymore504

Well-Known
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Dec 2, 2008
    Katy, TX
    Just curious what people think. How many rounds do you think have been put through this Operator 45ACP? I bought this new and these pictures are from when I broke it down to lube it before the first range session. I am fairly new to the 1911 and to me this looks like this handgun has been fired, a lot. However, I reached out to SA and they stated this wear is normal from fitting at the factory.
    ZH4ii6J.jpg

6ADw0Yp.jpg

QeA3TGk.jpg
    ARJ Defense ad

Last edited:

tekiwap

Fudds gonna fudd
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 16, 2021
    SWOK
    How many rounds do you think have been put through this Operator 45ACP? I bought this new and these pictures are from when I broke it down to lube it before the first range session.
    That don't look right. Did you but it new from Springfield? Or new from a shop? If you got it from a shop, does that shop have a range?

That looks more than the standard 3-5 test rounds and normal fitting at the factory. I think that gun is used.

Last edited:

lordmorgul

Lifetime Member
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 15, 2020
    Parker Co
    I don’t think mine looks like that after hundreds of full power rounds. I believe that’s not just wear, but deliberate fitting or “break-in” attempts outside the factory. If it’s truly new, then that one required much more hand fitting than mine to make it out the door. That is possible as every gun has a tolerance stackup that is unique from its components.

majormadmax

Úlfhéðnar
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Aug 27, 2009
    Helotes!
    Had a Canadian buddy stationed here who bought a Kimber 1911 from a local gun shop in SA (now gone).

We took it out to the range for the first time, and it jammed so bad we couldn't get it apart.