• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • GGR

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 21, 2009
    Texas
    First off... Hello! I have been reading a lot of forums but first time to post. My family owns about 60 acres in N TX over 1 mile from a medium sized town, but only recently have my brother's and I started shooting out there for skeet and target practice.

About a month ago my brother and cousin were shooting a 9mm Glock and 4 LEO from the Sheriff Dept in three cars show up on the edge of the property. They ask my brother if they can see his gun because there were reports of FULL automatic machine gun fire. LOL - my brother says his double taps must be getting better. The LEO ran the #s on the pistol and asked that next time we call them before we go out shooting.

This past Sat, 5 of us from the family went on to the land to shoot. We had an AR15, AK47, two shotguns, and three pistols (9mm and .40). After shooting for about 5 hours the LEO show up with lights flashing. Four LEOs (two of them were the same guys from last time) ask to search our guns due to numerous reports of FULL auto machine gun fire. They said the reports came from as far as 2 miles away. They spent about 30+ minutes looking through all of our gear, ran #s on 2 pistols, and repeatedly asked if we had any machine guns. Of course we do not have any.

The LEOs were very polite and professional, but I am frustrated that we were delayed (we lost all of the sunlight and had to pack up in the dark). And well we haven't done anything wrong. I am very pro LEO and have offered once we finish setting up full range on our land that the local LEO can shoot on it; which they were eager to accept.

My parents, who own the land and live locally in the town, plan to speak to the sheriff so we can avoid any future issues. So I guess I am seeking ADVICE on a balanced view - both from LEO and as a private citizen. What is fair here?