• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • CodyK

Well-Known
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Sep 5, 2019
    Houston
    I am pretty new to guns. A few weeks ago I got my first handgun, a Ruger Security 9mm, and have been to the range several times. I enjoy the hell outta shooting it, but I am a terrible shot! I don’t know if it’s my grip or what. I will be consistently low for 4 or 5 shots (I think I am aiming dead center of the target) and then I will hit 1 or 2 dead center. But I love practicing and ammo is cheap, so hopefully I’ll get more consistent!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Texas SOT

Mikewood

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 8, 2011
    Houston
    Try the ball and dummy drill.
    Take three or four magazines. Load one with a live round the rest with snap caps. Place them in a shooting bag. Shake the bag. Now without looking at the gun load it with a mag from the bag. Focus on the front sight and press the trigger. Did you flinch? If so it’s low and left. Dry fire 25 times. Now unload and repeat the exercise until you don’t flinch.

Vaquero

Moving stuff to the gas prices thread.....
    Staff member
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Apr 4, 2011
    Dixie Land
    How new is the pistol? I've had a few unfired that took over 50 rounds to shoot to point of aim. What ammo? Specifically what weight of bullet? Contrary to popular belief, a light and fast bullet will hit lower than a heavy and slow bullet. (This applies to handguns only).

Now that equipment has been addressed. Shooting pistols is not difficult, but it can be if you are nervous or just plain trying too hard. It's an acquired skill, and a diminishing skill for most everyone. Granted, I've seen a few first time shooters who just line up the sights and punch bullseyes.

Just keep shooting. If Ben English posts in here. Pay attention.

CodyK

Well-Known
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Sep 5, 2019
    Houston