Texas Gun Show Laws

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Texas

Member Benefits:

  • Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • accordingtoome

    Active Member
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Oct 13, 2008
    687
    21
    Can someone please let me know what i need to purchase a firearm in texas? I have my new paper license. An old expired drivers license with my picture on it and lots of cash. Also i have a shotgun i want to sell. Can i take that to the show and sell it? Has anyone here sold something at a show? Do all the dealers at the show run a nics check? How much does it cost and do i have to do it at every table?
    Thanks all
    ATM
     

    Code3GT

    Active Member
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jun 12, 2008
    610
    21
    Austin
    I would say use a different picture ID since your old DL is expired, but its worth a try. Why not just wait until your new one comes in? Yes, they have to run a NICS if its a dealer (unless you have your CHL, then they dont). Yes you can sell your shotty but dont expect much. Your firearm must be unloaded and probably in a case, DONT take ammo. They'll check it at the door and you're good to go.
     

    SIG_Fiend

    Administrator
    Moderator
    TGT Supporter
    Admin
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Feb 21, 2008
    7,170
    46
    Austin, TX
    Federal law requires that every dealer do an NICS check, so if there's a dealer there then they will do one. Many times there are just individuals there, people with booths that just have some of their personal stuff for sale. AFAIK, I have never met any individual selling their personal stuff at a show that could/would do an NICS check. Most individuals doing FTF (face to face) sales typically want to see at least a valid TX DL, and some will also want to see a CHL too just to CTA (cover their @ss) if ya catch my drift. ;)

    Like Code3GT said, if you want to sell your gun, just bring it along and make sure there is no ammo in it. You'll typically see lots of people, at most of the shows I've been to, walking around with rifles and shotguns and stuff slung over their shoulder and with signs taped to them that say "For Sale" or something. You might as well try that, I mean it's free and you don't have to get a booth or anything. ;) lol
     

    accordingtoome

    Active Member
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Oct 13, 2008
    687
    21
    I would say use a different picture ID since your old DL is expired, but its worth a try. Why not just wait until your new one comes in? Yes, they have to run a NICS if its a dealer (unless you have your CHL, then they dont). Yes you can sell your shotty but dont expect much. Your firearm must be unloaded and probably in a case, DONT take ammo. They'll check it at the door and you're good to go.

    man.. i really do not want to wait. the DMV said it might take 6 to 8 weeks to get my DL. im going down next month to apply for the CHL.
     

    nalioth

    Active Member
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 13, 2008
    866
    21
    Houston Metro
    man.. i really do not want to wait. the DMV said it might take 6 to 8 weeks to get my DL. im going down next month to apply for the CHL.
    I thought I already answered your question.

    Why are you asking it again and raising your blood pressure with the current opinions you're getting?
     

    accordingtoome

    Active Member
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Oct 13, 2008
    687
    21
    I thought I already answered your question.

    Why are you asking it again and raising your blood pressure with the current opinions you're getting?


    you know im just really excited to go a real show after living in cali for so long. "you can't have this" you can't have that" thats all i have heard for so long. Now that i can buy what i want :rolleyes: .. i guess im just freaking out a little
    2 more days.
     

    Texas1911

    TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    May 29, 2017
    10,599
    46
    Austin, TX
    Can someone please let me know what i need to purchase a firearm in texas? I have my new paper license. An old expired drivers license with my picture on it and lots of cash. Also i have a shotgun i want to sell. Can i take that to the show and sell it? Has anyone here sold something at a show? Do all the dealers at the show run a nics check? How much does it cost and do i have to do it at every table?
    Thanks all
    ATM

    I'm not 100% sure, but the paper license should be good enough if supported by another valid state issued ID with a photo.

    The NICS check has to be ran for all dealer purchases, but you may sell to someone face-to-face without running an NICS check. They have to have a valid Texas drivers license, and I would write down everything on the license on your copy of the bill of sale. In fact, you might be able to borrow a 4473 form and make a copy of it for personal sales.
     

    tex45acp

    Active Member
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 13, 2008
    228
    1
    South Central Texas
    accordingtome,

    Just call one of your local gunshops and ask them this same question. If they are a reputable shop and you cannot use the expired license with your paper license, they will tell you.

    Oh, I would not tell them you are wanting to know so that you can buy from someone else. That is on a need to know basis....and they do not need to know.

    tex
     

    pxranger

    New Member
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 17, 2008
    45
    1
    The Republic of Texas
    They have to have a valid Texas drivers license, and I would write down everything on the license on your copy of the bill of sale. In fact, you might be able to borrow a 4473 form and make a copy of it for personal sales.

    If I were the buyer, I wouldn't show my info. I don't know the seller and I'm not going to give out all of my info, especially when my identity has already been stolen once. It's obvious that you have some interest in guns, because you're at a gun show, so it's reasonable to believe that you have at least one gun already. Now that person has your address and knows that you're a gun owner. Now, don't buy from shady people, but who's to say that THAT guys house doesn't get robbed and now criminals have your info and address. Do what you want, but I don't give out info to strangers.
     

    Hoji

    Bowling-Pin Commando
    Rating - 100%
    34   0   0
    May 28, 2008
    15,694
    96
    Mustang Ridge
    I'm not 100% sure, but the paper license should be good enough if supported by another valid state issued ID with a photo.

    The NICS check has to be ran for all dealer purchases, but you may sell to someone face-to-face without running an NICS check. They have to have a valid Texas drivers license, and I would write down everything on the license on your copy of the bill of sale. In fact, you might be able to borrow a 4473 form and make a copy of it for personal sales.


    No NICS if you have a Texas CHL. Just sayin
     
    Top Bottom