• 2c321fe4adeca163074fecdd2fbfe4f7.jpg
      2c321fe4adeca163074fecdd2fbfe4f7.jpg
      56.8 KB · Views: 538

Wildcat Diva

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 26, 2016
    Maybe I need one. Not sure what I would put it on, or how that all works. I’d have to get a threaded barrel, also, right?
    Total silencer noob here.
    Can the same silencer fit on different firearms?

diesel1959

por vida
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 7, 2013
    Houston & BFE
    Maybe I need one. Not sure what I would put it on, or how that all works. I’d have to get a threaded barrel, also, right?
    Total silencer noob here.
    It can. It's not always optimum, but you can (as an example), use a silencer designed for a .45ACP on a 9mm pistol, assuming you can adapt the suppressor to the thread pitch of the barrel. Manufacturers make this pretty easy. You can also use a suppressor for a .30cal rifle on a 6.8SPC, 6.5CM, .270, 5.56, etc.

Probably the greatest fun with a suppressor comes from shooting .22LR suppressed. Just silly stupid quiet and really useful for pest eradication on a low-key basis.

I think I'm up over fifteen suppressors now . . . or at least I would be but for that lousy marine accident . . .

Wildcat Diva

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 26, 2016
    It can. It's not always optimum, but you can (as an example), use a silencer designed for a .45ACP on a 9mm pistol, assuming you can adapt the suppressor to the thread pitch of the barrel. Manufacturers make this pretty easy. You can also use a suppressor for a .30cal rifle on a 6.8SPC, 6.5CM, .270, 5.56, etc.

Probably the greatest fun with a suppressor comes from shooting .22LR suppressed. Just silly stupid quiet and really useful for pest eradication on a low-key basis.

I think I'm up over fifteen suppressors now . . . or at least I would be but for that lousy marine accident . . .
    So. You kind of buy a suppressor for a specific caliber of firearm,