To crimp or not to crimp ? the 223 rem.

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by TexMex247, Jun 21, 2009.

1. TexMex247

TexMex247 Well-Known TGT Supporter

May 11, 2009
    Leander(NW Austin)
    Ok, so I like to think that I have mastered the reloading of several pistol cals. However, when it comes to rifle cartridges, I am a bit of a newbie. I currently have only tried a few batches of 223 rounds for my AR and mini14 but have dreams of one day reloading my .280 as well. Anyhow, I see bullets everywhere with cannelures but just as many without. Can someone with experience point me in the right direction ? So far I have batched out only three sets of 20 rds, all loaded with IMR 4198(19-19.5gr), 55 and 60 gr bullets and all without crimps. My first experience with 45LC rounds is that at the lower end of the loading spectrum(near minimum loads), I had poor seal-ability of brass in the chamber and plenty of pressure blasting back at my face when I failed to use a full crimp(1 turn on a lee crimper). Should I expect the same with my 223 loads, or are cannelures and tight crimps just there to keep the bullets seated ? Anyways, any advice is better than blasting unburned powder into my eyes...so I'll take your 2 cents if you have it. - Texmex

2. The thing to remember is if them bullets creep to far forward in you magazine then you got problems. I say crimp. Hell I even have a C&H Tool & Die cannelure cutter for those with out.

3. Bullseye Shooter

Bullseye Shooter Active Member

Apr 28, 2008
    Texas Panhandle
    I do not crimp for either my AR or my .308 M1 Garand. Yep, the bullet will creep slightly when it is chambered, but I've never had a problem with cartridges in the magazine. The neck tension from when you seat the bullets is sufficient.

4. cuate

cuate Well-Known

Jan 27, 2009
    Comanche Co., Texas
    I never crimp .223 , the neck to bullet snugness is sufficient for all rifles I shoot....AR, Ruger, Golani, TC Contender....