Texas SOT

Glenn B

Retired & Loving It
    TGT Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Sep 5, 2019
    Texarkana - Across The Border
    In used to get 500 to 1K rounds of 9mm routinely for practice ammo from my agency, U.S. Customs Office of Investigations. That was about every quarter. I'd also get 12 gauge and 5.56/223 in good amount. I got that much because I was an instructor and had to maintain a 90% proficiency or higher. I got 1K of 9mm more often once I was issued an MP-5 for operational use and then when I also became an MP-5 instructor). That certainly was very nice while it lasted, I never needed to buy practice ammo. I sure do miss the free 9mm, 40 S&W (when ICE went to 40 caliber SIGs - what a mistake), the free 5.56/223 and free 12 gauge practice ammo and free 45 on occassion (which was the exact same ammo as our duty ammo in each caliber or gauge - once upon a time in Customs OI they allowed various guns and calibers as personally owned duty carry weapons).

When I was given ammo for practice, I almost always shot all of it before the next quarter. That though I discovered was not quite always the case and I must admit - I still have one or two 50 rd. boxes of Winchetser 9mm NATO ammo that was issued to me back in the mid to late 1990s and probably a couple or few boxes of issued 12 gauge 00 buckshot and slugs. I found that ammo when I was moving from NY to here. Until I rediscovered it in the bottom of a foot locker, I had forgotten all about it. They are pretty much mementos now. I also have a plastic jar full of ammo recovered from our range in the WTC after 9/11; it reminds me of that day and of better times before it.